Hitchhiking: Passive Transport

The character Trillian in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series hitched a lift with a guy from another planet, but she cuold pilot the spaceship she eventually helped him steal. She may have hitched a lift, but she ultimately took some control over her destination.

I, on the other hand, feel rather more like Arthur Dent, the character who got dragged off of Earth just before it was destroyed, and thrown into an entirely absurd situation, beginning with discovering that his close friend was an alien. In his pajamas in the cargo hold of a Vogon Destructor ship, he spends the series more or less disconcerted, his efforts to take control generally ending in destruction, but occasionally working out for the good.

I feel like I’ve hitched a lift into one of the swamps of Squornshellous Zeta, home of mattresses that grow and must be dried before being used.

Or about to be eaten by the Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal.

I apologize for all the Douglas Adams references, but my brain doesn’t seem to want to articulate on its own today. So quotes are my go-to means of expression.

I think that my meaning will be somewhat clear, even to non-geeks, I hope so, anyway. I just want to learn to pilot my own spaceship. That’s scary.

~ by Trillian on 10/21/2010.

One Response to “Hitchhiking: Passive Transport”

  1. Like ‘paddle your own canoe.’ also scary…

Leave a Reply

 
