Aftershock

I find the aftershock of relationships to be the hardest part of losing them. Years later, after you think the pain is gone, and you’ve moved on, and really, you have, something comes to mind and causes a tremor. Sometimes the seismographs of my mind pick these up, and they come out in words that break my heart. It amazes me how the memory of one person can stir up such a vast array of emotions. I don’t love him anymore. I don’t miss him. I don’t hate him. But he’ll never be gone, and I can live with that.

 

You Slept

 

I used to watch you while you slept and hate you

that you could sleep

while my mind was racing

while my heart was aching

while I wept.

 

the alarm clock lit your face with a blue glow

you slept like you had earned it

while my mind was racing

while my heart was aching

while I wept.

 

without waking, you’d reach for me, pull me to your chest

I’d breathe your scent, feel your warmth

while my mind was racing

while my heart was aching

while I wept.

 

I used to lie in your arms while you slept and hate you.

 

Pure Moments

 

the contour of your brow was made for me,

for me to press against my lips as I breathed your scent.

when memories of us surface, I have to willingly forgive,

but sometimes what comes is one of those pure moments-

 

and it overtakes my senses

and no time has passed

and I feel your skin

and smell your hair

and feel the yawning space in my chest where my love was so sweet it was cliche.

 

 

~ by Trillian on 11/05/2010.

One Response to “Aftershock”

  1. Wow.

    Anyone who has ever loved and lost (or loved and left) has felt those emotions (or something very similar). Gifted you are, child.

Leave a Reply

 
