Winter Wonderland? >.<

Here in Alberta, we have winter. Genuine, all-out, plug in your car so it’ll start, winter. Exposed skin will freeze in under a minute winter. Frost on your eyelashes and hair winter. Moving to Southern Alberta from Northern Alberta, I thought perhaps I’d be in for milder weather. Granted, the snow came here weeks later than it did up there. But it is cold!

It is so cold that when I let my wee beast out to do his business, he comes in with snow on his undercarriage, and so cold that he actually cries. That breaks my heart. So cold that I thank God every time I go out that I have a remote car starter.

And we have snow. It’s been snowing off and on for the better part of a week, and I took some pictures of what 3 days’ accumulation looks like.

 

This is what happens when you don't move your vehicle

shoveling this out should be fun

It can be pretty, sometimes

So, three days transformed my world, and I am truly grateful that my landlord shovels the walks. It’s snowed for a couple more days since I shot these pics, and there are cars and trucks on my street that are nearly completely covered, I can’t even discern make and model. Welcome to Alberta, hope you’re keeping warm, I’m about to make my pup a set of booties to keep his feet from freezing. Hot cocoa and warm blankets FTW!!

~ by Trillian on 11/22/2010.

2 Responses to “Winter Wonderland? >.<”

  1. I still chuckle when I remember the business trip I took up there. Making hotel reservations, the various places had “X parking spaces, Y plug-in spaces”. Did not understand at the time. It was a summer visit, but it made sense afterwards.

  2. I live in Montana – “somewhere in the middle of Montana” remember that old song? Seriously, I just moved and I can’t remember (and don’t care) if it is eastern or western Montana. All I know is people told me it was the banana belt of the state and it is cold and blowing and there is tons of snow. Maybe they meant the frozen banana belt. Yuck.

Leave a Reply

 
