Merry Christmas?

The most joyous, most blessed event in the history of the world, according to the Christian tradition is the birth of Jesus. And there have been arguments over the details, historical accuracy, what time of year it really was when He was born. I don’t care. It happened. And it has changed so many lives that no mortal can comprehend.

We celebrate here today, December 25th. I’ve traveled many miles, as have thousands of others to be with family and carry on traditions.

Being Ukrainian, family is a pretty major part of life, though I must admit that certain conditions prevent me from participating as actively as I would like to.

This Christmas, my family suffers. At the end of an evening of celebration, 3 lives were cut short by a semi. I was not close to Boy Cousin, didn’t know his girlfriend, and had never seen their baby. Much the same with Girl Cousin, though I had more insight into her life through facebook. She was vibrant, and joyful, and beautiful. He was the oldest child, the firstborn son of a firstborn son, and he loved his child and girlfriend. Baby Cousin has survived the night at the best Children’s Hospital in the area.

I will never understand until I look back from eternity. How could this happen? On a sacred night? To such a young family? To my family? And how will it play out in the lives of all the young cousins? The Aunties and Uncles? The parents?

I know where my comfort comes from, and I struggle with the mundane tasks of living everyday life. My heart breaks for those who are more directly faced with this disaster and may not have the hope and comfort I know.

At some point, I’ll probably post something articulate and poignant about this. Right now, there’s just a raw wound, a tear in the fabric of my family, that only time, the comfort of togetherness, and divine intervention can mend. There’s a rip in the quilt, and it will always show, even after it’s been mended. But maybe the fabric will be a little stronger for it, someday.

~ by Trillian on 12/25/2010.

4 Responses to “Merry Christmas?”

  1. I’m sorry, Trillian. There isn’t a good time for something like this but this surely is a bad time. I’ll keep you and yours in my thoughts.

    Jim

  2. I am sorry for your loss. You and your family are in my prayers.

  3. I’m sorry for your loss, Trillian. And I feel horrible for your family. Please accept my condolences.

  4. I’m so sorry that this happened to your family, Christmas or no. Our families thoughts and prayers are going out for the little one and all of you. Take care!

Leave a Reply

 
