DIY Light Therapy!

I’ve got the coolest project underway.

Well, okay, my landlord and I have the coolest project underway. Light therapy has been proven to help with Seasonal Affective Disorder, Depression, and Bipolar Disorder. So I decided I wanted a light box. On my rather limited budget, however, they are prohibitively expensive, even the tiny portable ones. So, with a little research, I found out how much light I needed (10,000 lux – I had to look that up – and how to best achieve that. Also, research is showing that blues and greens are most effective.

So I picked up a couple of blue LED light bulbs, plenty of lumens – had to look that up too – and a couple of CFLs of the cool daylight variety. All the other DIYs I’ve seen involved more than 10 CFLs, and were pretty big, or used the long fluorescent bulbs. Not my thing. I was gonna hack something together just to get the desired light, when I told my landlord about what I was doing. He is the king of building stuff, and had a zillion ideas. His enthusiasm totally got me into it, and the fact that he knows what he’s doing and has all the tools and toys made anything seem possible. So today we hit the hardware store, found what we needed to build the box and wire it all up, and brought it home. I got to hang out in the garage, which smells wonderfully of sawdust, and take pictures of each step along the way. I wasn’t a big help. though I handed him a couple of things.

All that needs to be done is a couple more coats of paint, and the actual permanent installation of the light sockets, which are already wired. Pics will be forthcoming. I am *so* excited!!!

I am so blessed to have people like my landlords in my life. They’re more like neighbours, friends, people I can count on and talk to. I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t live here.

~ by Trillian on 02/11/2011.

2 Responses to “DIY Light Therapy!”

  1. This sounds like a reasonably simple project that could be a good thing for you, and I look forward to seeing it all together.

    Jim

  2. I can’t wait for the pics! Glad you had fun. Let me hear from you.

Leave a Reply

 
