Authenticity

Sometimes it’s okay to buy cheap knock-offs. Things that are fun but not functional, that are trendy and not expected to last long or be in style for more than a little while.
But when it comes down to things that are supposed to last, that you are supposed to depend on day in and day out, that should enrich the quality of your life and protect you…
Knock-offs are dangerous. I have spent money on dollar-store versions of important things. And I got my money’s worth. Not a lot. So I spent a little more, got better quality imitations. Those lasted a little longer, looked a little more realistic. But they broke too. If you add up all I’ve spent on imitations of the real thing, they’ve cost more than the quality item, the one that will last and prove valuable, priceless, even. And I would have it. The real one. The one that would last. Instead I have a bunch of plastic shrapnel. I wonder if I could get an Iron Man style arc reactor to keep it out of my heart.

~ by Trillian on 03/09/2011.

3 Responses to “Authenticity”

  1. I miss you.

  2. Ouch Trill. You OK?

    • Thanks, DB. In the absence of an Arc reactor, I’m doing it with tweezers. ^_^ I think this is just part of the process. It’s gotta get better from here!

Leave a Reply

 
