Gratitude – what it does for me

I don’t know about everyone else, but I find it extremely easy to get caught up in my head, thinking in circles that turn into downward spirals. (And now I’m gonna have NIN in my head. Don’t worry if you didn’t get that.) One thing I have learned that sort of derails that Möbius Strip of ickiness is gratitude. So, to prevent the cycle from even starting, I’m grateful this morning.

I’m grateful for:

– this handmade stoneware mug that I got for a dollar and wouldn’t have if my Auntie D. didn’t love me and spend time with me and know how to find a bargain.

– the Kona coffee in the mug, which I wouldn’t have if my Mom and Pop hadn’t thought of me when they went to Hawaii

– my apartment, which is really a home, and wouldn’t be if my landlords/upstairs neighbours weren’t kind, generous, loving people who go so far beyond just being the people who take my rent.

– my wee beast, who keeps me company and makes me feel like I’m not alone, who can tell when I need to be comforted, and whose antics amuse me even when I’m down. (and who I wouldn’t have were it not for the mother’s keen eye when reading the paper)

– the health care system here, that gives me treatment so far beyond what I would be able to afford if I lived anywhere else. (Yes, yes, call me a pinko if you must. But at this point in my life, I wouldn’t survive any other way.)

– the city I live in, the church I’ve been welcomed into, tattoos and piercings and past and all, and the people who may not know the sordid details of my life, but who don’t need to, because they love me for who I am now.

– the ability to sing. No matter how awful things are, I can plug in a CD and sing. It may be a sad CD and make me bawl, but at least I get to feel something, and let it out.

– my family. I am so blessed to have the parents I have, who don’t feel far away (it’s only a seven hour drive, after all), but whose love is so close all the time. My aunties, who have been friends and almost sisters sometimes, and who have never judged me or closed their doors or arms or hearts to me. My uncles, with whom I’ve not always gotten along, but who I can call in a crisis and count on to be there and know just what to do when it comes to the things that a girl would normally rely on a bio-dad for. My cousins, who are so different from me, but who always feel like my little brothers and sisters. And my amazing, strong, resilient, vibrant, steadfast, incredible extended family, carrying on the legacy of love and generosity and the sweetness of my great-grandma. Funny how you can forget a distant cousin’s name, but feel the bond anyway.

 

Okay, I’m gonna drink this coffee before it gets cold, and curl up with my wee beast for a little while. I hope you have a few things that spring to mind that bring gratitude to your heart, and let you see that life, while it hurts a lot of the time, has precious things in it that give you something to hold onto in the dark.

~ by Trillian on 03/11/2011.

6 Responses to “Gratitude – what it does for me”

  1. BEAUTIFUL!

    You know, I’ve always wanted to tackle this topic more in my writing efforts, offline and online. I know many folks in the world stop to wonder why they live such thankless lives. Many jobs are thankless jobs too.. People may say they appreciate you but their actions show otherwise.. Hmmm, this seems to be a world lacking gratitude!

    Your brilliance here is that, rather than waiting for thanks that may never come, you have broken the vicious cycle of thoughtlessness by being grateful yourself. It’s so easy to complain about what is wrong in our lives or what we are lacking yet we are all so blessed in so many ways. Whenever I feel overwhelmed, underappreciated, or just plain “burnt out”, I stop to think about all the good things and REAL wealth I have in my life, and it is uplifting indeed.

    Sadly, some may see this as sappy, idealistic thought with no real value but everyone needs some inspiration and motivation sometime (if not ALL the time) so why NOT perk yourself up? If you wait for others to do the job for you, you may end up being very miserable and that is certainly a lonely existence.

    The irony here is that the very thing that brings us closer in some aspects also separates us. You see, the Internet facilitates faster communication but it also has made people take for granted human contact and warmth. People are just doing more things in less time, so there’s still “too busy” to stop and smell the metaphorical flowers, which is why you’re not getting the gratitude you deserve.

    Well, I’m here to say I am grateful for your blog and people like you.. So keep it coming and always remember you are NOT alone! =o)

    • Thanks, Yogi, for the insightful and reassuring reply, and for taking the time to wander through my mind as I wade through it and put the bits on display that I enjoy, and think may actually resonate with someone somewhere. Good to know that I hit the mark sometimes!

      I’m hoping that eventually, as we have to face the economic and political situations that seem to bring to light how much less we have, the buoyancy I believe resides in the human heart will lead us to focus on what there is, what is permanent, what we can’t lose, no matter how uncertain the world may be.

      Glad to have you around, I appreciate your input!

  2. “Why did the chicken cross the Mobius strip? To get to the same side.”
    ( i confess, i looked up the term to be sure i understood…. )
    That exemplifier of the human condition, King David of ancient history, left numerous writings as reminders that mindful gratitude is a key saver of sanity & authentic perspective. Thanks for adding to his list. love, a.c.

    • A.C. I really enjoy your comments (at least what I’ve read so far). The keyword you mentioned there is very powerful: authentic. Authenticity is HUGE. We have a lot of faceless people and pretenders out there. Some call them zombies or sheep but, whatever you label them, they are the rule, not the exception.. So I’m glad to find folks like you in this humble, REAL site!

  3. It never hurts to stop and take stock of your life. I don’t know if anyone has a perfect life, but it sounds like yours (and your perspective on it) is pretty good.

    Jim

  4. Thank you for your post Seriously,it made me feel better and I am grateful!

Leave a Reply

 
